Voices in My Paint

20121204_183505

A sunset, a sun rise, and their transition is demonstrated by the way the night descends, but also in a literal sense: horizontally from one canvas to the other.

We travel from one place to another hoping to find an escape when we feel trapped inside ourselves. There’s a need to escape, that I think about blaming on everyone around me or the place i’m at, without meaning to, and suddenly when they’re all far from me, I’m in a different place, and the feeling remains and I wonder how. Then I find answers. Doing what you’re intuitive with, helps with that escape and allows getting out what’s hidden from your view. Things suddenly make more sense.

Captivated

A portal from the sea opens into space. That space is an alternate reality: the insides of the mind; the vague floating information orbiting a captivating clarity, the area left empty to allow for reflection; the epiphany, the empowering source.

I like to be inspired by art, and thus feel that it’s a powerful way to inspire others. I had left the discipline for a while and craved it all those years. All those “useless, wasteful” things we love to do really make us more empowered to do better things for others and to take care of ourselves in every way.

Intuition, I believe, is normally underrated, in the way that it’s not encouraged too often (I don’t mean to say that we should stop giving reason, but just that we should acknowledge it and enhance it). I believe that intuition is created through years of practice of an art/science/skill-set, not just our own years but those of our ancestors. Muscle memory is a powerful means for evolution to flourish. Not using what your ancestors gave to you is the real waste of all that hard work.

Adaptation to new eras means creatively tweaking your inherited skill-set to run with the market’s demands and not to eradicate that skill-set completely out of existence. ‘Transferable skills’ refers to skills that can be used in more than just the discipline that you picked it up from. But until you find that voice of reason that expresses to others how your skill is transferable, it’s not transferable. It doesn’t count to the employer/the world. That’s how important our voice is.

Types of voices (yes, Steven Covey was a vicarious mentor):
1. The one that comes out of our vocal chords
2. From our fingers: typing
3. The one that pours onto our canvases with paint/charcoal/mud
4. The one that comes from our actions/behaviors
5. The one that screams out from our dreams at night
6. Feet/mouth: for those who hold pencils and write with them
7. The one that comes from our ears and eyes (yes, receptivity-stuff we’ve heard and seen/read)
8. Let me know which ones I’m missing – basically any tool we can use to express something inside ourselves or someone else; my favorite example: the Transformer Bumble Bee

All-together, you gotta just DO, rather than think about doing, and talk about doing.

In the words of the late Steven Covey: “Find your voice, and inspire others to find theirs”. This is what I’d like to continue doing in these two mediums: paint, computer keys, and of course through my can’t-wait-to-get-started-on career in Human Resources.

I’d like to know a short story of when you found your “voice” in life? I’ll paint it for you.. and you’ll be dubbed its master/madam. Then you can tell me how close I came to capturing exactly your notions. I hereby dare you to inspire me…

Leave a Reply

